Another Ode

To Charles Mingus

To Bill Monroe

To Pete Seeger

To Sonny Terry

And Brownie McGee

To the Beatles and Chuck Berry

To the Music of the Spheres

To Illusion

And to Truth

We raise our glass.

To Johnny Hodges and Duke Ellington

To the movements of the constellations

We watch

And we sing

7 thoughts on “Another Ode

  1. I’ll drink to that! And may all our songs echo and linger on long after our names are forgotten…

  2. Hi Bumbas,

    I liked your blog! I noticed that you write poetry. I’m writing poetry myself, and I’d like to take this opportunity to invite you to visit my blog.

    I’ve got some poetry and flash fiction that you may like:
    “Dance, Dance Under the Rain!”: http://subhanzein.wordpress.com/2012/03/02/dance-dance-under-the-rain/
    “Love is the Water of Life”: http://subhanzein.wordpress.com/2012/02/22/love-is-the-water-of-life/
    “A Hug from My Heart”: http://subhanzein.wordpress.com/2012/02/29/pantun-sz-012012/
    “God Invites You to a Party” : http://subhanzein.wordpress.com/2012/03/08/god-invites-you-to-a-party/
    Love is a Heart Throbbing Joyride: http://subhanzein.wordpress.com/2012/03/16/love-is-a-heart-throbbing-joyride/

    “The Scholar and the Boatman: http://subhanzein.wordpress.com/2012/02/08/the-scholar-and-the-boatman/
    “Two Rupiah Notes”: http://subhanzein.wordpress.com/2012/02/19/two-rupiah-notes/
    “Becoming Human”: http://subhanzein.wordpress.com/2012/02/26/becoming-human/
    “Chinese Bamboo and Paulo Coelho”: http://subhanzein.wordpress.com/2012/01/24/chinese-bamboo-and-paulo-coelho/
    And the latest: “Pham and Her Gold Fish” http://subhanzein.wordpress.com/2012/03/04/pham-and-her-gold-fish/

    Please feel free to have a look at them. Thank you and have a great day! 🙂

    Warm regards from Down Under,

    Subhan Zein

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s