Not to be confused with Van Morrison’s classic, this she was just another brown-eyed girl song chronicles stuff that happened in New York a long time ago. I wrote it after I saw Luis Bunuel’s movie Obscure Object of Desire. I was moved and fascinated by the realization that reality can take two faces: how can a woman be an angel and also be a devil? Poor Fernando Rey. He’s wonderful in the part, the part of an upper-class buffoon. He gets dragged along like a ……. And he deserves it! As they say in the Carl’s Junior commercials: “And that’s just the way it is”. Well, that’s is just how it is, Bob. I tried recording this one on several tracks. Press play to hear

She worked at the office/typing up reports/ I used to look at her all day long/So full of passion so full of remorse/When suddenly she came to me/We were swept up by a storm////How was I to know? How was I to know? How was I to know?/ She was just another brown-eyed girl/ Just another brown-eyed girl……..

All the summer she loved me true/or so I did believe/But then came the rains of autumn/And I was deceived/ Every woman is a saint/And she’s a devil too//How was I to know? How was I to know? How was I to know?/ She was just another brown eyed girl……

