OK. I’ve done this song before on the blog. Cut me some slack, huh? Think it’s easy coming up with something new and exciting every single day for this Every Day Another Story concept? Some concept!

Besides, Nobody Knows You When You’re Down and Out by Jimmy Cox (1923) is a great song. Maybanks and Bumbas are forever working on it, and we always enjoy playing it. So we were playing it last night…and, OK, OK, I admit it. I’m lazy about writing new stuff all the time and I’m just recording most anything just to fill another day on this Every Day Another story blog, etc… Anyhow, here’s the song.

Once I lived the life of a millionaire/Spending my money and I didn’t care/Taking my friends out for a mighty good time/Buying bootleg whiskey, champagne, and wine

Then I began to fall so low/Didn’t have no friends and I had no place to go/It’s mighty strange but there without a doubt/Nobody knows ya when you’re down and out…

When I get back on my feet again/Everybody’s gonna want to be my long lost friend/ It’s kinda strange but there ain’t no doubt/Nobody knows you when you’re down and out

Nobody knows you/When you’re down and out/In your pocket not a penny/ And all those friends you used to have… well, now you haven’t any

If I ever get back on my feet again/Gonna hold on to that dollar till the eagle grins/Yeah, it’s mighty strange/But there ain’t no doubt/Nobody knows you when you’re down and out.

