images-2“It takes a worried man to sing a worried song”. Yes, it does. This traditional song dates back at least a hundred years. First recorded by the Carter Family in 1930, it was recorded by Woody Guthrie, Ramblin’ Jack Elliot, Van Morrison, the Kingston Trio, the Stanley Brothers, etc etc.

It takes a worried man to sing a worried song (three times)

I’m worried now but I won’t be worried long

Imagine going to sleep and waking up with shackles on your feet. images

And that’s just the first verse!

I asked the judge “What might be my fine?” (three times)

He said, “Twenty-nine years on the Rocky Mountain Line”

It takes a worried man to sing a worried song

“Around my leg I got twenty-nine links of chain” (three times)

And on each link the initials of my name.

These are “worried man (and worried woman) blues”.

But the song is hopeful.

“I’m worried now, but I won’t be worried long.”images-1

Sing along with this one as Bumba and Maybank give it another go.

