Irene Goodnight carries a very positive association for me. IMG_0099When I was very young, maybe three or four years old, my grandmother used to sing it to me.

Then I later heard Pete Seeger and the Weavers do it. The song was a big “Top Ten” hit for the Weavers in the early 50’s, and it’s been sung by a wide variety of great singers and artists.ย  Sonny Terry and Brownie Mc Gee played the song. Sonny in fact had a song titled “Me and Hudie Ledbetter”, which has the verse:

The poor boy wrote a million songs

He wrote ’em day and night

The song I loved to hear him play: Irene Goodnight

Anyhow, this song by the great Leadbelly, Irene Goodnight, has such beautiful words. Very sad words, but beautiful nonetheless. And I hope you sing along.

Sometimes I live in the country

Sometimes I live in town

Sometimes I take a great notion

To jump in the river and drown

Irene goodnight

Irene goodnight

Goodnight Irene, Goodnight Irene

I’ll see you in my dreams…………

