Every Friday on Friday Fictioneer’s the gracious Rochelle Wisoff-Fields provides us desperate writers and/or bloggers (Which is more desperate? A writer or a blogger?) with photo prompts for 100 word stories, which are linked to the Friday Fictioneer’s site. So check it out. This week’s prompt is

“Beachfront Property Available” read the real estate ad.

The real estate agent drove north on the Pacific Coast Highway in his shiny, black,  BMV  SUV, jabbering non-stop about mortgage terms and interest rates. I wasn’t listening of course. I was just thinking about the possibility of achieving my dream: a beach house. Amazingly, this property was priced within my range.

When we arrived at the abandoned shack – which indeed sat at the ocean’s edge – the agent grew silent for several moments.

“I tell ya, though, it has potential. Definite upside.”

“Yeah,” I commented soberly. “Definitely a fixer-upper.”

So much for  bourgeois dreams.

