images-4

::::::::::::::

Here’s another blues I’ve been working on. I like to think that I’m breaking new ground with new blues progressions. Which is silly, because here’s nothing ever new about the blues. As for the lyrics, I’ve noticed of late that I often use the same phrases again and again. It’s a matter of some concern. It’s a matter of some concern. This repeating myself. It’s a matter of some concern. It’s a matter of some…..

The great Irving Berlin reportedly said that he only had one melody that he used over and over. Naturally, I can’t confirm whether he really said that, as I never spoke with the man myself. Berlin himself seemed to be ignoring the amazing wealth and rich variety of songs he himself composed. He also (reportedly) played in only one key, which is also hard to believe. However at my level of talent it is quite believable that all my songs could be the same one. Certain lyrics keep popping up in all my songs – like movable type, or bad pennies.
Undeterred, I’ve been working on this one recently. A very simple (At its best simplicity is elegant. At its worst, just simple) blues. I added a second track of harmonica. The Low Down Blues

 

I woke up this morning with the low down blues

Nothin to win

And nothin to lose

Hey, I got the low down blues

 

There been some things that are troublin my mind

But this loneliness……

I just can’t seem to leave thes blues behind

Hey, I got the low down blues

 

Hey, I got the low down blues

Hey, them low down blues

Hey I got the low down blues

And they be troublin on my mind

 

 

 

 

 

 

