Contents:

News Update

Literature Column: Samuel Beckett

Ain’t Misbehavin’: a Bumbastories sing-along with a couple of words about Fats Waller

A George Packard Scoop

News Update: The Power of the Ruling Class and the Status Quo

The update this week is that nothing is new under the sun. The “war on terrorism” rages on. The fear of course is that there is no end in sight for this war. In France people remain disturbed and fearful. Here in the USA, it is quite amazing how things return to normal. Life goes on. The “System” rolls on with its inexorable cruelty. The status quo, our habits, our ways of life draw us back in. We will watch our TV’s and comment on our little screens. We will go on with our lives, and the media will move on to coverage of the next terrorist attack, or shooting, or massacre, or mass tragedy. Again, we will pause to think, and again we will be grieved. But we will quickly move on. We always do. There is a reason why the status quo is called the status quo. Only when more people are informed and politically involved in the fight for justice and freedom will the status quo change. There can be no giving up in the struggle for freedom and justice. Martin Luther King knew this. His words and his legacy serve to inspire us.

*****************************

Literature: The prose of Samuel Beckett

images

I picked up my copy of The Expelled by Samuel Beckett last week. A good friend recommended Beckett to me many years ago, and I am grateful to him (the same friend also gave me a copy of Lattimore’s Iliad, so I am doubly thankful). Beckett’s daring prose may be a bit disconcerting at first, but soon you are captured by his Irish rhythms and by his quirky little stories. The stories in the Beckett books I’ve read are in essence always the same story: there is no story: it’s the rhythm that counts. Perhaps I am a bit perverse, perhaps there’s no perhaps, but I find Beckett’s tales of woe – and the stories are woefully woeful – to be hilarious. In any case, it is the rhythm that is the key and Beckett was a master. I find his little stories a great pleasure to re-read. The Explelled and First Love entertained me this past week, and I recommend Beckett to anyone who wants a good laugh as well as a taste of fine literature.

**********************

Ain’t Misbehavin’ by Fats Waller

Someone had a post and Utube the other week about Louis Armstrong – which was a pleasure to see. The blogger commented that Louis and Miles Davis wereimages-3 the greatest jazz artists of the 20th century. I agree about Louis. But Miles Davis? In my personal ranking of the jazz greats – and these ruminations and considerations about these sorts of top ten rankings happens to be one of my favorite ways to waste time (but pleasantly) – it’s clear to me that Louis Armstrong and Duke Ellington are in a separate category. They stand far above the others. Below them I would place Mingus and Dave Brubeck and Davis. And certainly Fats Waller has to be up there on any short list. Waller was always compared to Armstrong in his day, an inherently unfair competition. But Waller was a tremendous pianist and performer. Check out Fats Waller Utubes and live recordings. Meanwhile, here’s Bumba giving you a chance to sing along with Ain’t Misbehavin’, written by Fats Waller, Harry Brooks and Andy Razaf  in 1929.

No one to talk with
All by myself
No one to walk with
But I’m happy on the shelf

Ain’t misbehavin’
I’m savin’ my love for you
For you, for you, for you

I know for certain
The one I love
I’m through with flirtin’
It’s just you I’m thinkin’ of

Ain’t misbehavin’
I’m savin’ my love for you

Like Jack Horner
In the corner
Don’t go nowhere
What do I care

Your kisses
Are worth waitin’ for
Believe me

I don’t stay out late
Got no place to go
I’m home about 8
Just me and my radio

Ain’t misbehavin’
I’m savin’ all my love for you

I don’t stay out late
Got no place to go
I’m home about 8
Just me and my radio

Ain’t misbehavin’
I’m savin’ my love for you

George Packard Report: The lazy man’s guide to news reporting

IMG_0984As George Packard sat on the beach, he thought of writing a story for Bumbasories again. As roving reporter for Bumbastories, George Packard was no longer searching for a scoop. That’s right. It was soft serve. IMG_0994

A pleasant week to all.

