I’m gonna sit right down and write myself a letter

And make believe it came from you.

I’m gonna write words oh so sweet

They’re gonna knock me off my feet

A lot of kisses on the bottom

I’ll be glad I got ’em!

I liked this song as a kid when I first heard it on the radio. The 1957 Billy Williams recording that was a pretty big hit at the time. The lyrics are just up a kid’s alley. You know, writing a letter to yourself, making believe it’s from your girlfriend, kisses on the bottom. Despite growing up I still like this song very much, and I’m trying to learn to play it. It has some terrific chords I think. A few years ago I heard a Fats Waller live radio show recording. The great Fats Waller can be an inspiration for some people. Check out Fats Waller. Anyhow, the song was written in 1935 by Joe Young and Fred E. Albert. Fats Waller had the first hit recording in that same year. The song was recorded by all the great singers of the era: Armstrong, Bing Crosby, Frank Sinatra, even Sir Paul did it recently.

It’s a Sing-Along, so here’s the rest of the lyrics

I’m gonna smile and say I hope you’re feeling better

And close with love the way you do

I’m gonna sit right down and write myself a letter

And make believe it came from you

