OK. This is a mandatory sing-along! If you want to have fun, you have to participate. To be a really a good sport, you have to sing. However, in order to reduce some of the undue pressure you may be feeling, Bumba is providing several sing-along choices. Take your pick.

Let’s start with Take Me Out to the Ballgame, one of the ultimate sing alongs. images-3Every person in America and half the people in the rest of the world know Take Me Out to The Ballgame. It’s probably the most-widely known song in American music history (after Yankee Doodle Went to Town, and it seems that after ol’ Yankee Doodle went to town, well, things on the farm just ain’t the same). I must confess that Take Me Out to the Ballgame evokes such positive associations with the ballpark and the noble American game of baseball that I feel a pull at my heartstrings. Sing along. It’s easy. It’s almost like a karaoke tape. I played it mostly on harmonica. Make believe it’s the Seventh Inning Stretch.

**************************

How ’bout singing along with Hank Williams’ I’m So Lonesome I Could Cry?

images(It’s almost a sacrilege that I tried to sing this one, so singing along is almost mandatory!)

*************************

How about Alexander’s Ragtime Band by Irving Berlin (1911 or so, his first hit song).

images

