You Came Along is a song I wrote this past year – not a folk song but a stab at an old-time, Broadway number. It blatantly steals a chord change from Duke Ellington’s A Train (the augmented fifth on the ninth before it melts into the minor – one of Ellington’s favorite tricks. Playing in C, it’s the D aug 5th into the dminor 7th) Anyhoo, here’s the song.

It even has an intro: I thought I had come to the end of the line, I could see that final curtain But when I stepped down from that train, nothing was for certain There was no one around as I stepped off of the train I turned up my collar, and it was starting to rain…..and then You came along Like a breeze! You came along images-3 You came along for me! How do I know? How can I be sure? I only know what I’m living for since You came along……

