images-6I bet you thought you got off easy there. Only one post about the two. No way! Bumbastories has another post on the two. Why???  Because the number two merits a double-back. The two deserves a two-pronged, double-edged approach. A two-fisted, second story ….. a double-dip, as I heard someone say. We already mentioned quite a lot about the two yesterday – too much if I remember – mostly about the two’s mystical sorts of associations. Today we’ll look at the two in our language. The centrality of the two to our psychology and ways of thought etc, etc…… Blah, blah……

While you’re thinking about it and to make this read go down a little easier, here’s a Randy Travis song called On the Other Hand, written by Overstreet and Schlitz in 1985, sung by yours truly – in which a man is faced with a critical choice: He could 1) stay with this woman he’s with, or 2) go back to his wife. He has to decide! He’s at a fork in the pie, er, road. He must weigh his choices. Hence the metaphor of the two hands. The weighing of things. And he has two choices, as often is the case. The man runs through a sort of cost-benefit analysis. The song starts “On one hand I count the reasons I should stay with you…..

On one hand I count the reasons I could stay with you
And hold you close to me, all night long.
So many lover’s games I could play with you
And on that hand I see no reason why it’s wrong
But on the other hand, There’s a golden band
To remind of someone who would not understand
On one hand I could stay and be your loving man
But the reason I must go is on the other hand
In your arms I feel the passion, I thought had died
When I looked into your eyes I found myself
When I first kissed your lips I felt so alive
I’ve got to hand it to you girl, you’re something else
But on the other hand, There’s a golden band
To remind of someone who would not understand
On one hand I could stay and be your loving man
But the reason I must go is on the other hand

It makes for a magnificent Country-Western song. Hats off to Randy Travis!

A different version of this song is on my CD titled Chester’s Songs, which is downloadable on CD Baby, or Soundcloud. Also available in hard copy, a CD, together with the books of course. See Bumba Books.

Some more double-talk with two:

You can get in your two cents, dance the two step, do a double take, or a double-back as in Chuck Berr did in Nadine. You can go on a double date in Tupelo, accept a double-dare in Tuscon, get double-crossed (by a double agent who plays by the Tewkesbury Rules), chew Double Bubble bubble gum (ah, the good old days), put half & half in your coffee, sleep in a double bed, engage in binary fission, play two on two, use the binary number system like your computer, have a half-baked idea or have half a mind to do something, possess a dual nationality, have a dual enrollment in a college, or a dual diagnosis, Lord forbid.

You’ll do a double take on the double-entendre. Too much two fisted, double-barrelled……..

Two tutus! Yikes!
Two tutus! Yikes!
