IMG_1104See below, if you dare, the album notes for my CD titled Chester’s Songs, which goes along with my novel One Life or the Lives of Chester Knowles. To quote Mel Allen again: “How ’bout that?” A book and a CD combo. The full recording is available on Sound Cloud (for free), or on CD Baby (99 cents). If you want a real, physical CD instead of a download, see instructions in Bumba Books. This is the second time I’ve made a “companion CD” to my novels. You’d think I would’ve learned my lesson after the first one!  However, the songs are great ones, and, as I say, they’re all cited in the One Life/The Phantom Speaks books

Chester’s Songs

performed by Stephen Baum

It Don’t Mean A Thing If It Ain’t Got That Swing, Duke Ellington and Irving Mills, 1931. Page 179

On the Other Hand, Don Schlitz and Paul Overstreet, 1985. Page 209 of One Life or The Lives of Chester Knowles

Half as Much, Curley Williams, 1951. Page 191 of One Life

There Been Some Lonely Times, Stephen Baum. 2002, Page 196 of One Life

Georgia on My Mind, Hoagy Carmichael and Stuart Gorrell, 1930. Page 195 of One Life

Up a Lazy River,Hoagy Carmichael and Sidney Arodin, 1930. Page 195 of One Life

You Got to Walk That Lonesome Valley, Traditional. Page 82 of The Phantom Speaks

John Henry, Traditional. Page 146 of One Life

Reach Out I’ll Be There, Holland-Dozier-Holland, 1966. Page 27 of The Phantom Speaks

When I’ve Done My Time, Jimmy Skinner, 1930. Page 115 of The Phantom Speaks

Irene Goodnight, Hudie Ludbetter, 1933. Page 97 of The Phantom Speaks

       *******************************************

 About the songs: Chester’s Songs is the companion piece to my novels One Life or the Lives of Chester Knowles and its sequel The Phantom Speaks. All of these songs are mentioned in the books. There is one song on the CD that I wrote, called There Been Some Lonely Times. There are two traditional folksongs. The other songs were written by the songwriters cited above. Hopefully, this CD serves to complement the books.

 

All songs performed by Stephen Baum. The celebrated Los Angeles guitarist Preston Maybank plays on tracks 4, 5, and 11.

**********************************************

