Pete Seeger died two years ago. We still play his songs of course. He left us so many good ones – as well as the memory of a very noble soul and beautiful spirit. What with all the mess and carnage in the headlines it’s hard to talk about peace. Our political leaders do not talk about peace or about working toward it. Peace is off the table. The War on Terror appears to be a permanent situation. The political institutions of the nations of the world are often dysfuncional – which also leads to more wars and killing. We become accustomed to wars, fear and insecurity. It seems we are miles away from reaching peace. But Pete Seeger had the heart and the courage to fight with his art, with music for peace and for justice. This song, Oh Had I A Golden Thread, which he wrote in the sixties seems to encapsulate Pete’s philosophyimages-1 and approach. I love to sing it and I hope you do too. 

Oh had I a golden thread
And a needle so fine
I would weave a magic strand
Of rainbow design
Of rainbow design

In it I would weave the courage
Of women giving birth
And in it I would weave the innocence
Of the children of all the earth
Children of all the earth

Won’t you show my brothers and sisters
My rainbow design
‘Cause I I would bind up this sorry world
With hand and my heart and mind
Oh hand and heart and mind

Oh had I a golden thread
And a needle so fine
I would weave a magic strand
Of rainbow design
Of rainbow design
Oh oh oh

 

