images-3Raise your hand if you’ve never heard the song Nobody Knows You When You’re Down and Out before. Then Click on the arrow below to hear Maybank and Bumba play it. And if you are familiar with the song, you just might feel like hearing it again. That’s how good the song is. Heck, you might even sing along. Hopefully no one will remember that Bumba has already posted this song a good couple of times already. In any case, Bumba offers no apology, not even for this silly preamble. Nobody Knows You When You’re Down and Out  was written by Jimmy Cox in 1923, and sung by many great artists over the years. Maybank and Bumba were playing it last week.

Once I lived the life of a millionaire (Yeah right)

Spending my money and I didn’t care (Double yeah right)

Taking my friends out for a mighty good time (uh huh)

Buying high-priced liquor, champagne and wine (Now we’re talkin’!)

OlThen I began to fall so low (Ah, too bad)

Lost all my friends, didn’t have no place to go  (oh, oh)

It’s mighty strange but there ain’t no doubt

Nobody knows you when you’re down and out

Oh, nobody knows you

When you’re down and out

In your pocket not a penny

And when it comes to friends, well, you haven’t any

But when I get back on my feet again

Everybody’s gonna want to be my long lost friend.

Yes, it’s mighty strange

But there ain’t no doubt

Nobody knows you when you’re down and out

Nobody Knows You

When You’re Down and Out

