Here’s another addition to the Key to the Highway Compendium. I learned it from Sonny Terry and Brownie McGee recordings. They always played the song; they were friends of Big Bill. It’s a bit atypical: an eight bar blues. It was written in the 1930’s by the great Bill Broonzy. I’ve always loved the song too and so has Maybank, so it’s no surprise we were singing it the other night. And that’s why Bumbastories has a compendium.

I don’t know why or how I came to identify with these lyrics and with the whole blues and country genre. After all I come from the Bronx. New York City. I’m not exactly a country boy. And as to “having my breakfast in New York City and havin’ my dinner in New Orleans”, well, my usual geographical range is about as far as my bicycle will take me.

IMG_1022

