Yikes, it’s May already. We made it through 100 days of Trump relatively unscathed. Well, almost. And we the people are perhaps a little bit stronger. But no politics, OK?

OK. Well, we’ll start with a bee gee’s song you can sing along with. The preacher walked with me and he smiled….

And then our salute (and sing a long too) to the proud city of Kansas City, which I indeed hope to visit one day. I might take a boat, I might take a train. And if I have to walk……

:::::::::::::::::::::::

May, the merry month of May, is the fifth month of the Julian calendar. Which means that now we must take ourt obligatory stroll through the numbers. What? Math again? That”s right:the number five. Perhaps the most glorious numeral of them all.

Gimme Five!

Click  herehere and here and to see previous posts on the Five, and, if you think you can take it, click on The Numbers Game is Here: Mathematics for Dummies page in the header. The beauty of the five’s symmetry is profoundly amazing, at least to me. When I first read about the phi proportion, the golden mean, I was captivated. It got me interested in math – something most of us will agree doesn’t happen every day. It was via a Blavatsky theosophy book that I was introduced to the golden proportion, where it was presented as an early piece of human knowledge that had been handed down over generations, and etched or scribed on an old scroll perhaps (there was a crude drawing in the book), wherein the inscribing of a five pointed star inside a circle was demonsrated. A circumscription. Or was it an inscription? Not wanting to cut things short – not after that second circumcision…er circumscription….  here’s to the five.

In addition to the five’s geometric beauty, phi symmetry underlies much of life’s structure. The Fibonacci numbers, the spiral of the nautilus, hurray for the five!

Happy May.

