All of Me was written by Gerald Marks and Seymour Simons in 1931. Played by all the jazz greats from Louis Armstrong to Duke Ellington – and Johnny Hodges does this song magnificently, you should check it out – to Ella Fitzgerald, and to singers like Frank Sinatra and Willie Nelson, it’s simply a lovely song to sing – and to sing along with perhaps.

As you may or may or not know, my Stephen Baum charactor (that’s me) is in the habit of making companion CDs to his novels. Soundtrack accompaniment songs to the novels. This song should have been on the Up in the Bronx and Down in LA CD, because it is referenced in two different scenes. I didn’t put it on the CD because I felt that I didn’t sing or play the song well enough (You see, I do have some sense of shame). Still, I continue to try to play this one. Maybank, too, loves the song, and he’s been working on it. Last nite, I think he did a really fine job on it so here it is.

